Confidential Records/Clearances If you are an adult who was in the care of DCYF as a child, you may request a copy of your medical and educational records only. DCYF records are confidential and are only released with a signed copy of the attached form. To make a request, please fill out and sign the Confidential Requests Form, include a current copy of a government issued photo ID, and send to: The Department of Children, Youth and Families Attn: Records Center, 1st Floor 101 Friendship Street Providence, RI 02903 *Address on current government issued photo ID must match address to which records are being requested sent. Adoption Information DCYF cannot release adoption records due to confidentiality laws. If you are seeking information regarding biological parents and/or siblings, it may be helpful for you to register with the Voluntary Adoption Reunion Registry at the Garrahy Court Building at 1 Dorrance Plaza, (2nd floor, Juvenile Department) located in Providence. For further information please go to: www.courts.ri.gov Adam Walsh Child Abuse Registry This is known as the Sex Offender Registration and Notification Registry. If you are an agency outside the state of Rhode Island and you are requesting a clearance for an individual who formally lived in the state, the Rhode Island Department of Children, Youth and Families (DCYF) requires the following: A signed release from both the individual and the staff from the agency requesting the clearance. You may send this release on agency letterhead or your release forms. Please also include: First, Last, Maiden or AKA Names DOB Previous Rhode Island address(es), if known Agency email address/contact to send result letter back to Agency check or money order in the amount of $10.00 Made payable to “General Treasurer State of Rhode Island” Cash and personal checks are not accepted You can also submit payment on our website at https://www.ri.gov/DCYF/clearancerequest/ for an additional $1.50 service charge and scan/email signed releases to email@example.com. All requests can be submitted to: The Department of Children, Youth and Families Attn: Natasha House/Records Center 101 Friendship Street Providence, RI 02903 State agencies outside of Rhode Island can email requests to firstname.lastname@example.org. State agencies are not required to pay a fee. You may call (401) 528-3843 if you have any questions about making an Adam Walsh Child Abuse Registry request. Clearance Requests State and federal law mandates background checks on all child care employees, including minors and adults, who work at a licensed, license-exempt, regulated, and registered child care provider. To submit a clearance request online please follow this link: https://www.ri.gov/DCYF/clearancerequest/ A credit card is required for the $10.00 fee. To submit a clearance by mail, please fill out and submit DCYF Clearance Request/Results (Facility) with an agency check or money order in the amount of $10.00 made payable to “General Treasurer State of Rhode Island.” Cash and personal checks are not accepted. The Department of Children, Youth and Families Attn: Records Center, 1st Floor 101 Friendship Street Providence, RI 02903 For information regarding DCYF Clearance Requests, please contact the DCYF Records Department at (401) 528-3843 or email email@example.com.