
1. It’s Your Job!
One of the most important jobs you have as a parent is keeping your child safe. 

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the use of child car 

safety seats in passenger vehicles, when used correctly, reduces the risk of death by 71 

percent for infants and by 54 percent for toddlers ages 1 to 4 years. Booster seat use 

reduces the risk of serious injury for children ages 4 to 8 years by 45 percent when 

compared with seat belt use alone, and for older children and adults, seat belt use 

reduces the risk for death and serious injury by approximately half. 

2. It’s the Law!
Under Rhode Island law, all children must be properly restrained in a child restraint 

system in the rear of the vehicle if they are younger than 8 years old, unless they are 

at least 4 feet, 9 inches tall and weigh at least 80 pounds. Children who are at least  

4 feet 9 inches tall and 80 pounds must be properly restrained by the vehicle seat belt.

Why 

Use Child 

Car Seats?



Car seats should be installed using the LATCH system (lower anchors and tethers 

for children) or the vehicle seat belt. Vehicles manufactured after September 2002 

have the LATCH installed in at least two positions in the rear seat. Be sure to check 

your owner’s manual for weight limits when using the LATCH system to install your 

child’s car seat.

Most car seats should only be used for six years from the date of manufacture, which 

can be found on the car seat label. You will also find an expiration date stamped onto 

the back of all car seats. You should mail in the registration card or register the seat 

online so that you can be notified if the car seat is recalled.

For more information about car safety 
seats and other ways to keep kids safe, 
please contact:
The Injury Prevention Center 

at Rhode Island Hospital 

55 Claverick Street, 2nd floor, Providence, RI 02903

www.lifespan.org/ipc  

www.facebook.com/safekidsrhodeisland 

4safety@lifespan.org

401-444-2208

Installation 
of 

Car Seats



Your Child and Car Seat Safety



To keep your child as safe as possible 
when riding in a vehicle, adhere to 
the following guidelines:
  •  �Select a car seat that fits in your vehicle and is appropriate for your child’s 

age and size. Use it every time your child rides in the vehicle.

  •  �Refer to the car seat manufacturer’s instructions and to the vehicle  

owner’s manual for information on how to install the car seat. Check 

height and weight limits.

  •  �To maximize safety, keep your child in the car seat as long as the child fits 

within the manufacturer’s height and weight requirements.

  •  Keep your child in the back seat at least until the child is 13 years old.

  •  �Never allow a child to sit in front of an airbag. Airbags can injure or kill 

children in a crash that might otherwise have been survivable.

  •  �Use your seat belt to provide a good example for your child and help 

make safety a habit.

Guidelines 

for Car Seat 

Safety



Infants and toddlers should ride in a 

rear-facing car seat in the vehicle’s back seat until 

they reach the maximum height and weight for the 

seat, at least until they reach their second birthday. 

A recent study shows that children younger than 

2 years old are 75 percent less likely to die or be 

severely injured in a crash if they are riding in a 

rear-facing seat, which has a harness and in a crash 

cradles and moves with the child to reduce the 

stress to the child’s fragile neck and spinal cord. The 

harness straps must be snugly secured at or below 

the shoulders and the harness clip must be secured 

across the child’s chest at armpit level. 

There are different types of rear-facing car seats. Infant-only seats can only be used rear-facing.  

Convertible and 3-in-1 car seats typically have higher height and weight limits for the rear-facing position, 

allowing you to keep your child rear-facing for a longer period of time.

There are many different 
car seats on the market. 
The type of seat your 
child needs depends on 
your child’s age, weight 
and height and the type 
of vehicle you have:

Children who reach the  
maximum height or weight for 
a rear-facing SEAT should ride in a 

forward-facing car seat in the vehicle’s back seat. 

Always read the manufacturer’s instructions for size 

limits. You should continue to keep your child in a 

forward-facing car seat with a harness and top tether 

for as long as possible. The harness and top tether 

provides upper torso, head, and neck protection. The 

harness straps must be snugly secured at or above 

the child’s shoulders and the harness clip must be 

secured across the child’s chest at armpit level.



Remember: 

Your child should  
always ride in the 
back seat because  
it’s safer there.

Children who have reached the 
maximum weight or height for 
a forward-facing seat with a harness 

should ride in a belt-positioning booster seat in the 

back seat, with the vehicle’s lap and shoulder belt 

securely fastened. The booster seat raises and posi-

tions your child so that the vehicle’s lap and shoul-

der belt fit properly. The lap belt prevents injury to 

the child’s abdomen and the shoulder belt protects 

the child’s upper body. In the event of a crash, an 

adult seat belt that does not fit a child properly can 

actually cause injury.

Most children who have 
reached 4 feet 9 inches tall and 
are between 8 and 12 years old 

can use a seat belt in the back seat. Keep your child 

in a booster seat until he or she is big enough to fit 

in a seat belt properly. To fit properly:

   •  �The lap belt must lie snugly across the upper 

hips, not the stomach.

  •  �The shoulder belt should lie snug across the 

shoulder and chest and not cross the neck or face.

  •  �Your child should be able to sit all the way back 

in the seat and comfortably bend his or her 

knees at the edge of the seat.


