

Contact: Damaris Teixeira (DCYF) Public Information Officer damaris.teixeira@dcyf.ri.gov

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Providence, R.I. (April 15, 2024) – Pursuant to Rhode Island General Law § 42-72-8(c), the Department of Children, Youth & Families (DCYF) is disclosing the fatality of an 18-year-old youth.

The incident occurred on April 13, 2024, and DCYF has notified the Office of the Child Advocate.

Due to confidentiality laws, DCYF is prohibited from sharing additional information.

DCYF's highest priority is the safety and well-being of all children. Rhode Islanders are required by law to report known or suspected cases of child abuse or neglect to DCYF within 24 hours of becoming aware of such abuse/neglect. Please call 1-800-RI-CHILD to report known or suspected cases of child abuse.